EasyGov.swiss: VAT returns and work permits for third-country nationals

On 15 December, the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) again expanded EasyGov.swiss, the online desk for companies. Thanks to a successful cooperation project with the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (FTA), VAT returns can now be submitted by following the ‘VAT-declaration easy’ process on EasyGov. In addition, third-country nationals in the pilot canton of Thurgau can now apply for work permits on the EasyGov portal.

Since the beginning of 2021, the FTA has been offering the option to submit VAT returns online with ‘VAT-declaration easy’. This online service replaces traditional paper forms and simplifies the entire declaration process. In addition, tax representatives can choose to have their clients sign a declaration approval release – this meets a need in the fiduciary and tax consulting sector. With the current update, users registered on EasyGov can now also access ‘VAT-declaration easy’ without having to log in to the ePortal with a separate login. As part of the company formation process online, it has been possible to register a new company with the VAT office on EasyGov since it was first launched at the end of 2017.

Gradual expansion of notifications and permits relating to the law on foreign nationals
Employers who intend to employ or deploy foreign workers in Switzerland must apply for authorisation or notify the authorities. EasyGov supports companies in this process and can be used to submit documents directly to the authorities responsible. As part of a pilot project, Thurgau is the first canton to make applications for work permits for non-EU/EFTA nationals (i.e. third-country nationals) available on EasyGov. This new service is geared towards SMEs and cantonal authorities. The latter have the option to request additional information or documents from the applicants.

With this update, the following notification and application processes can now be carried out on EasyGov:

  • Notification of gainful employment of temporarily admitted foreign nationals (F permit) or recognised refugees (B permit) in all 26 cantons.
  • Cross-border commuter permits for EU/EFTA nationals (G permit) in the pilot cantons of Thurgau and Zurich. The cantons of St Gallen and Aargau will follow in spring 2023.
  • Work permits for employment with Swiss employers
    for third-country nationals in the canton of Thurgau. (Short stay permit up to 4 months/120 days, L permit or B permit)

Additional categories of work permits will be introduced in the next few years. The long-term objective is to simplify the processes for submitting reports and obtaining permits in all 26 cantons.

Services available on EasyGov.swiss Version 1.10:
EasyGov.swiss – The online desk for companies


Fabian Maienfisch, Deputy Head of Communications and Media Spokesperson State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Tel. +41 58 462 40 20, fabian.maienfisch@seco.admin.ch

Bitte benutzen Sie einen moderneren Browser